Ryan H. Geek Bio

  • Nickname: Hans, Tubie
  • Riding Since: 1994
  • Bikes: Yamaha IT175, Yamaha YZ80, Yamaha TTR225, Yamaha YZ125, Honda 300 EX, Honda 400 EX, Honda CRF450R, Kawasaki KX450F, KTM 990 SUPERDUKE, KTM 1190 RC8R, KTM 500 EXC (Supermoto)
  • Riding Style: One wheel up, full noise, smooth, sometimes upside down.
  • Favorite Quote: "People are rewarded in public for what they practice for years in private."

How it all started!
The earliest memory I have is of a late 70’s XR50 in the shed of my parents first house. I would stand in the shed and stare at this bike in amazement. I still remember the ripped blue seat and knobby tires. My dad got it for me from his friend but my mom was way too scared of motorcycles to let me ride it. I was told we were storing it for someone else and it was not mine to ride. My mom convinced my dad to get rid of the bike before I ever rode it. Then, at 9 years old my neighbor and best friend got a dirt bike. Once I saw the old XR200 in action I was obsessed with getting my own. I got a paper route later that week and started giving my money to my parents and begging for a bike.

... motorcycles have been one thing that consistently brings me joy, excitement, and drive to do things outside my comfort zone.

In time, my parents finally caved in due to my determination. My mom still cried and told my dad. “you just killed our son”, when the first bike came home. Since then, motorcycles have been one thing that consistently brings me joy, excitement, and drive to do things outside my comfort zone. Riding presented me with the opportunity to join Team Zilla. I bought some gear from RevZilla, got a follow up email, and saw the “apply now” link. I had been looking for a way into the motorcycle industry since I started working and there it was. I applied, drove from Massachusetts to Philly, and moved within a few weeks. Moving and starting a new job could not have been easier. I was finally working on my passion and I was surrounded by like minded, amazing individuals.

Where am I, and Where am I going?
I have always dreamed of racing. I have tried my hand at some motocross but my years of woods riding did not help me as much as I would have liked. I am still looking for a way to compete. Supermoto and Enduro are at the top of my list right now. I want to sharpen my riding skills and knowledge while working within the industry as part of a company that is changing the game.

Also, bodybuilding has become a major part of my life. I am approaching my 4th year of serious diet and lifting dedication. I would like to try a competition once I have my physique as finely tuned as it can be. The constant grind of keeping your goals at the forefront of your decisions and feeling/watching slow and steady progress has become an addiction. At 6’4 225lbs, I am the go to resource for our bigger customers, especially those who lift. Do to my passion for bodybuilding, I am great with proportions and finding gear that fits riders outside the size chart.

Favorite Part of TeamZilla
How can you pick just one? The list is very long but the people and culture are hands down the reason I enjoy going to work everyday.

Favorite ride
North Carolina. BRP, Deals Gap, Cherohala Skyway, great friends and a log cabin in the woods. The scenery is beautiful even when it's blurry.